Ch-ch-changes (a guest post from Abi)

As most of my days consist of revision, I wont bore you with the woeful details of that so I asked my sister, Abi, to write a guest post on anything she wanted! She is currently studying English and French at Oxford University (enjoy her literary genius!) and most importantly is my best friend!

I’ve been thinking more and more about change recently. Change is often approached as a terrifying unknown, we cannot see around the corner to try and decipher what will come flying at us next. Our familiar places, habits, people are far too comfortable to need transformation, so why change?  Why leap before we can look? Why abandon the comfy rhythms that seem to come so naturally to discover what could just be a world of disappointments?

But without change where would we be? Change is written into the very fabric of our every moment of reality. Without change; no seasons, no childhood or adulthood, no progress, no growth. And yes, change does also brings uncertainty, loss, and fear … but without these things how would we ever learn to savour the moment, to stop breathe and take the world in.

 “All changes, even the most longed for, have their melancholy; for what we leave behind us is a part of ourselves; we must die to one life before we can enter another.” Anatole France.

This is probably on my mind at the moment because so many changes are happening for me and the people I love at the moment. Pippa is off to university and I’m off to France. I love Pippa’s excitement about what is around the corner. She knows that she’ll be leaving some things behind her, “a part of” herself, but she’s looking forward to discovering everything that is waiting for her at university! I was, on the other hand, pretty terrified about coming to uni, meeting new people and leaving the old, learning new things, it all scared me (I was, and am, a wimp and total home-bunny!) … Then I got here and, about halfway through my first year, realised that I’d gone through all those changes without even realising it. The process, although abrupt in its immediate change of scenery, had been so gradual and even gentle, that I hadn’t had time, amongst the excitement of university life, to even realise how much was different in my life.

There is so much that could be said about change, about fear, about joy in transformation. I could talk about our unchanging God who is, at the same time, dynamic and exciting, who has already mapped out all the twists and turns in the life of every peculiar treasure.

“Do not conform to the pattern of this world but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.” Romans 12 v 2.

But so many wise people have discussed this before so maybe I’ll just finish …

No matter what changes are occurring in life, internal, external, situational, relational, change can bring revolution; not violent uprising, but transformation. Without change everything is static and inert. Change is part of the ever-moving dance of the universe and in order to live we must learn to follow the rhythms where they take us and plunge into the pattern. I need to keep reminding myself of this every day as my year abroad gets ever closer and change disguises itself as a big scary monster all over again!

“[Change] is the only evidence of life.” Evelyn Waugh, Brideshead Revisited.

 

Leave a Reply

